Novel writing month begins

There is both too much and not enough I can say about National Novel Writing Month. Considering this is my fifth year in a row, and I talk about NaNoWriMo often, it seems ironic that I now find it so difficult to write about it.

This is the first day of NaNoWriMo, and today I begin writing a novel in a month.

Last year I blogged about it every day of November; this year I vow not to do that. Writing a 50,000 word novel in a month is challenge enough without adding another 20,000 into the mix.

Instead I’ll offer weekly updates, and this being the first day, I will simply say that so far I’m on task. In my fifth year as a NaNoWriMo participant, I’m leaping into a fantasy novel for the first time ever. I’m not sure I prepared enough for this, but that’s what’s so great about NaNoWriMo. It doesn’t matter. Less preparation is encouraged. The point is just to write, and that is what I shall do.

If you’re reading this and wondering what crazy language I’m speaking when I talk about NaNoWriMo, and would like to learn more, please head on over to www.nanowrimo.org. It’s not too late to sign up to write your own novel in a month! It’s free, and writers of all ages are welcome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

